Oyo CJ constitutes seven-man panel to investigate deputy governor.

From Bola Ogunlayi, Ibadan.

A seven-man Panel that will investigate the Deputy Governor,Oyo State Engr.Rauf Olaniyan has been constituted.

The State Chief Judge, Justice Munta Abimbola constituted the Panel in Ibadan.

The Oyo State House of Assembly urged the Judge to constitute the Panel for investigation on allegations bordering on abuse of office among others..

The panel was constituted on Thursday, July 14, 2022, in pursuant to the resolution of the House of Assembly, and as requested by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Adebo Ogundoyin, in a letter dated July 6, 2022.

The Speaker had in the letter requested the constitution of the panel by the virtue of  power conferred on the Chief Judge by section 188 (5) of the 1999 constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The delay in the inauguration of the members of the panel was due to the pending suit initiated by Olaniyan against the impeachment process, which judgement was delivered on Thursday, by Justice Ladiran Akintola, who dismissed the suit.

Members of the seven-man panel are Chief Kayode Christopher (Chairman); Arc. Adebisi Soyombo; Chief Lawal Adekunle Dauda; Princess Olanike Olusegun; Rev Fr. Patrick Ademola; Chief Mrs Wuraola Adepoju (JP); and Alh. Tirimisiyu Akewusola Badmus.

The panel will investigate the allegations against the deputy governor as provided under section 188(5) of the constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Justice Abimbola described members of the panel as people of unquestionable integrity, not being members of any public service, legislative house or political parties.

He urged members of the panel to have the fear of God, act in accordance with their conscience and to be fair and just in the discharge of their duties.

Previous Post
Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com