Kingmakers Announce Balogun As Olubadan-elect

Member of Olubadan-in-Council address Pressmen today

From Bola Ogunlayi, Ibadan.

Ten out of the 11 members of Olubadan-in-Council have endorsed the nomination of Dr Lekan Balogun as the next Olubadan of Ibadanland.

The Council also denied that a legal tussle could hampered the succession to the Olubadan throne.

The Olubadan of Ibadanland,Oba Saliu Adetunji joined his ancestors early morning January 2,2022 after an illness that dragged him to the University College Hospital (UCH),Ibadan.

His death shook the entire land with sympathisers trooping in on daily basis to his Popoyemoja residence, Ibadan.

The Osi Balogun of Ibadanland, High Chief Tajudeen Ajibola, maintained the stand amidst controversy surrounding the choice of Balogun as the next king in order of hierachy.

A media briefing by the kingmakers on Wednesday confirmed the development.

According to Ajibola, the kingmakers resolved that Dr Balogun is next in line to ascend the throne of Olubadan according to tradition.

He also debunked insinuations relating to the health and wellness of the new Olubadan-elect.

He said all the negative media reports were nothing to worry about.

It would be recalled that a former Attorney General ,Oyo State ,Mr Lana had written a letter to the State Gov Engr.Seyi Makinde not to approve the appointment of Baligun owing to previous litigation on the propriety or otherwise of recognising the promotion of members of the Olubadan in Council to crown wearing Obas.

The matter was a subject of controversy during the regime of the late Governor Abiola Ajimobi.

The meeting was attended by members of the Olubadan-in-Council, except former governor Rashidi Ladoja who refused to accept the promotion and went as far as challenging it at the Law Court.

Other High Chiefs in attendance are Balogun Olubadan, Owolabi Olakulehin; Otun Balogun, Olufemi Olaifa; Ashipa Olubadan, Eddy Oyewole and Osi Balogun, Tajudeen Ajibola.

The others are Ekaarun Olubadan, Amidu Ajibade; Ashila Balogun Olubadan, Lateef Gbadamosi, Ekaarun Balogun, Kola Adegbola and Ekerin Olubadan Abiodun Kola-Daisi.

The new Olubadan-elect was expected to address members of the press thereafter.

Previous Post
Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :