Factional Oyo PDP Members Pass Vote of No Confidence on Gov.Makinde

From Bola Ogunlayi, Ibadan

Members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Oyo State who were at logger head with the leadership styles of Governor Seyi Makinde, for months running have passed a ‘vote of no confidence’ on him.

At a meeting in Ibadan on Thursday, the members also finalised arrangements to hold a parallel congress scheduled to start on Saturday.

Time Nigeria Magazine reports that the faction also fought the Governor for unilaterally mopping up Nomination Forms into elective positions in the Local and State Congresses across the State.

Governor Makinde joyfully announced that he had paid for all the Nomination Forms in Abuja for all interested members in one of his public statements.

The meeting to oppose his stand and threats to have Parallel Congresses was attended by members from across the state.

In a five-point communique issued at the end of the meeting, leaders of the group urged members to attend the parallel congress at venues of their meetings in each of the 351 wards.

They agreed to avoid violence and thuggery, stressing that they should allow members of the mainstream to participate if they show up.

The communique read: “Members are urged to, on Saturday, go to the congress venue and conduct themselves in the most peaceful manner. The venues remain the ward meeting venues in each of the 351 wards in the state.

“If other members of the PDP turn up at the venue, they should jointly hold the congress together but nobody should engage themselves in any form of hooliganism and bringadage. As members of the same party, we must relate as such.

“Members are assured that efforts are being made at the state and national levels to ensure that ownership of the PDP reverts back to the members of the party.

“The meeting prayed for peaceful conduct of the PDP congress which begins on Saturday, 25th September through October 16th, 2021.

“The meeting rose with passing of vote of no confidence on the leadership of Engr. Seyi Makinde on the state PDP.”

Leaders at the meeting include a former Majority Leader of the House of Representatives, Hon. Mulikat Akande-Adeola; Alh. Hazeem Gbolarumi;Alh. Nureni Akanbi; Engr. Femi Babalola; Elder Mattew Abioye; Princess Aderonke Adedoja; Alh. Bisi Olopoeyan; Asiwaju Adekola Adeoye; Alh. Sarafa Olaoniye; Alh. Ahmed Aranse; Alh. Ajinawo; Chief Odeyemi; Alhaji Somope; Alh. Bola Akinyemi and Hon. Micheal Okunlade.

Previous Post
Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com